Daily Archives: January 17, 2011

The Bridge House – cosy cavernous theatre pub in Little Venice

If you find yourself wandering around the lovely (but a bit overlooked) area of my neighbourhood, Little Venice, you’ll probably find yourself admiring the cute house boats and the picturesque bridges.

And the ducks.

And then all of a sudden your stomach will start to rumble, and you’re wondering where to go for at nice lunch or dinner.

If that’s the case I suggest you head up on the bridge that connects Blomfield Road with Delamere Terrace.

You cross it and there it is on the corner, The Bridge House or “the pub equivalent of a big warm hug” as they say themselves on their website.

It’s dark and cosy with red walls n’all and the day I was there it was very easy to get a table.

But then when you sit down, you’ll notice that it gets very crowded at intervals (at least in the evenings), as there’s a comedy club upstairs, The Canal Café Theatre.

The food was not bad at all (I’ve learned not to have sky-high expectations when it comes to pubs) and the prices very reasonable. My friend had the goat’s cheese risotto (£7.50).

And I had the slow cooked pork belly with bacon and sage mash, sautéed leeks and mustard gravy. Very yummy. (£10)

You can have a look at the menus here.

I’ve walked past this place a hundred times and this is my first visit. But I’ll definitely come back.

The Bridge House, 13 Westbourne Terrace Road, London
Website